Transportation

Driving in Greater Philadelphia

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania law requires all drivers and front-seat occupants of vehicles operated in Pennsylvania to wear a seat belt. Any passengers between age 8 and 18 must wear seatbelts, no matter where they are sitting in the car. All children under 4 must be strapped into approved child safety seats and children ages 4 to 8 must ride in toddler booster seats. In addition, motorists must turn their headlights on whenever the windshield wipers are in use.

Distance & Driving Time
From Center City Philadelphia*
Albany, NY 225 miles 4 1/2 hours
Atlantic City, NJ 62 miles 1 1/4 hours
Boston, MA 320 miles 6 hours
Buffalo, NY 414 miles 7 1/2 hours
Erie, PA 425 miles 8 hours
Harrisburg, PA 109 miles 2 hours
Hartford, CT 221 miles 4 hours
Lancaster, PA 73 miles 1 1/2 hours
Manchester, NH 350 miles 6 1/2 hours
New York, NY 90 miles 1 3/4 hours
Pittsburgh, PA 306 miles 5 1/2 hours
Providence, RI 281 miles 5 1/4 hours
Reading, PA 63 miles 1 1/4 hours
Richmond, VA 254 miles 4 3/4 hours
Rochester, NY 349 miles 6 1/2 hours
Scranton, PA 128 miles 2 1/2 hours
Syracuse, NY 264 miles 5 hours
Trenton, NJ 35 miles 3/4 hours
Washington, DC 145 miles 2 3/4 hours
Wheeling, WV 345 miles 6 1/4 hours
Williamsburg, VA 300 miles 5 1/2 hours
Wilmington, DE 30 miles 1/2 hour
Youngstown, OH 368 miles 6 3/4 hours
* All times are approximate.

New Jersey

New Jersey law requires all front-seat occupants of passenger vehicles operated in New Jersey to wear a seat belt. Passengers under 8 who weigh less than 80 pounds must be secured in an approved child passenger restraint system or booster seat in the rear seat of the motor vehicle. Motorists in New Jersey may only use hands-free wireless telephone devices and may not text message while driving on any public road or highway. In addition, motorists must turn their headlights on whenever the windshield wipers are in use.

Delaware

Delaware law requires all occupants of vehicles to wear a seat belt. Every child under the age of 8 or less than 66 pounds must be properly restrained in a federally approved child restraint system, and all children age 8 or 66 pounds to age 16 must properly use a seatbelt. No child under 12 years of age or 65 inches tall may sit in the front seat of a vehicle with a passenger-side air bag.

 
- deal6 - auctions6